Running 5K

Let me start off by saying this: I’m not a runner. Never have been. Never will be. My favorite form of exercise is lifting weights. I don’t have the stamina nor the lung capacity to run long distances. However, I pushed through the 5 kilometers (around 3.1 miles).

I ran/walked the entire distance on a treadmill. To me, a treadmill is easier to run on because it’s not as rough on your feet and knees as asphalt or cement. I can run for a much longer distance on a treadmill, so that was the route I decided to take for the 5K.

Everything was going smoothly until I was creeping up on mile 1. I had run the entirety of the first mile, but then my lungs felt as if they were constricting slightly, my calves were starting to cramp up slightly, and I was beginning to sweat. Had I been running outside, I would not have been able to run for the entire first mile.

Because my lungs were not getting enough oxygen, I slowed down slightly. I began to jog at a much more moderate pace. I continued jogging until I felt as if I had caught my breathe. By my memory, this was around the halfway point of the 3.1 miles.

After catching my breathe, I began to run again. Actually, jogging more quickly may be a more accurate description of what I was doing. Once I start jogging, I usually cannot get back up to my starting speed. My body becomes tired, my legs start to ache, and I just am not physically able to run much faster.

I did not stop for the entire 5K. I did go between walking, running, and jogging, but I did not give up.

At the end, I was hot, I was sweaty, and I was feeling great about myself. The great feeling did not last very long. I was quite sore the next day. My legs ached, and I was exhausted. Even though my body felt dead, I was so proud of myself for completing the 3.1 miles all at the same time.

Leave a comment